Canada · Hunter education exam

Ontario hunter safety course manual and study options

Instructors order the manual for Ontario’s hunter safety course from the Ontario Hunter Education Program (OHEP). If you study online, the course’s own chapters are your material. Either way, the free official reading is Ontario’s Hunting Regulations Summary, with the rules on licences, tags and each game species.

  • 13Chapters in the online course
  • FreeThe official Hunting Regulations Summary
  • 90 daysTo finish the online course after paying

Where to take the course

OptionPriceFree to useLinks
In person
Ontario Hunter Education Program (OHEP): classroom coursesOfficial · instructor-led course and examCertified instructors teach the course and give the exam. Its instructor search lists over 400 Ontario towns; pick yours or the nearest one.
Not statedNot stated
Firearms Safety Education Service of Ontario: one-stop coursesCanadian Firearms Safety Course, alone or with hunter educationIts course search finds firearms courses by location and radius, including one-stop courses, which the ministry says combine the two courses.
Not statedNot stated
Online courses
HUNTERcourse.com: Ontario Hunter Education CourseOfficial online course, self-paced, in English or FrenchA delegated provider for the ministry. Its page shows a Trustpilot rating of 4.4 from 5,939 reviews.
$60 plus taxAn Ontario study guide, and a general 10-question sample test

Prices and ratings checked November 2026.

Where can you get the Ontario hunter safety course manual?

OHEP’s page for ordering the manual is addressed to instructors. If you’re booked on a classroom course, ask your instructor which materials come with it.

None of OHEP’s or the ministry’s pages offers the Ontario hunter safety course manual as a PDF or download.

HUNTERcourse.com describes its online chapters as narrated and illustrated, with interactive animations, and its site lists a free study guide for the Ontario hunter safety course.

The free Ontario Hunting Regulations Summary

Ontario publishes this annual guide on its website and as a PDF. Its page was updated on March 10, 2026. It covers hunting licence information, tags, mandatory reporting and the apprenticeship program for residents aged 12 to 14, with sections on deer, moose, elk, black bear, wild turkey, wolf and coyote, and small game, plus maps of the Wildlife Management Units.

OHEP says your instructor should give you a copy. Licence issuers and participating ServiceOntario locations have it too.

Practice questions before the exam

On the online course, the chapter quizzes are your practice. OHEP’s and the ministry’s pages don’t offer practice questions for the Ontario exam.

HUNTERcourse.com also has a free 10-question sample hunter safety test on its site. It’s a general test, not part of the Ontario course.

Classroom, online or one-stop?

Pick by how you’ll hunt and how you like to learn:

  • Bow only: the hunter education course is enough, in a classroom or online, with the right licences.
  • With a gun: you also need the Canadian Firearms Safety Course.
  • At your own pace, or in French: the online course.
  • With an instructor in the room: a classroom course, found through OHEP’s instructor search.

A simple study path

This order is our suggestion, not an official one:

  1. Choose a classroom course or the online course, and sign up.
  2. Read the summary’s sections on licences and tags, and on the species you plan to hunt.
  3. Work through the course, and redo any quiz you don’t pass.

Hunter education in other provinces

Other provinces have their own programs. Two examples, from their governments’ own pages:

  • British Columbia: the Conservation and Outdoor Recreation Education program, known as CORE, run by the BC Wildlife Federation through certified examiners
  • Alberta: the Alberta Conservation and Hunter Education program, which Alberta’s My Wild Alberta site says you can complete online, through the Alberta Hunter Education Instructors’ Association

HUNTERcourse.com also runs online courses for British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, the Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Nunavut, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan and Yukon.

Sources: Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources · Ontario Hunter Education Program · HUNTERcourse.com and 8 more. Checked November 2026.

Rules and fees can change, so check the official site before your test.

Explore

Everything else, in one place