United States · Licensing exam

Where to study for the insurance license exam

Start with the free content outline for your exam, from the testing company your state uses. It lists every topic the exam can cover. Then check whether your state makes you take a course first, because Florida does for most agent licenses and California requires 12 hours on ethics and its Insurance Code. Below are the courses and websites people actually use, with prices as we found them in October 2026.

Official and free

Texas Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook and content outlines

Official · PDF (Pearson VUE for TDI)
Price
Free
Free to use
The whole handbook, with content outlines effective September 1, 2026

Lists every Texas exam with its time and fee, and the number of scored questions in each outline. The outlines show the topics and how many questions each one gets. A Spanish version is available too.

Checked October 2026

Florida candidate handbook and examination content outlines

Official · PDF (Pearson VUE for Florida DFS)
Price
Free
Free to use
Handbook and outlines effective January 1, 2026

The outlines give the scored question count and time for every Florida exam, such as 160 questions for General Lines. Use the DFS education database to find an approved pre-licensing course.

Checked October 2026

California License Examination Objectives

Official · web and documents (CDI)
Price
Free
Free to use
Examination objectives for each license type, and the list of approved education providers

The California Department of Insurance says its exams are based on these objectives, so they’re the best checklist for what to study. The same page links to approved providers for the required 12 hours on ethics and the Insurance Code.

Checked October 2026

Apps and websites

Pearson VUE insurance practice tests

Official test vendor · web
Price
$19.95 per practice test (Florida page)
Free to use
Nothing

Practice tests from the company that runs the Texas and Florida exams. They cover the general part of the Life, Health and Property & Casualty exams, with some state-style questions. Pearson VUE says a pass on a practice test doesn’t guarantee a pass on the real one.

Checked October 2026

Achievable

Online course · web
Price
$99 for one line (Life, Health, Property or Casualty), $149 for Life & Health, P&C or Personal Lines
Free to use
You can start for free without a card, and there’s a sample chapter

One payment gives a year of access, with state-specific content for every state and DC. It says it meets pre-licensing rules only in eligible states, so check yours. Includes a pass guarantee. 4.7 out of 5 from over 30,000 reviews, by its own count.

Checked October 2026

Kaplan Financial Education

Online course · web, with live online classes
Price
Five packages from Basic to Premium; price shown after you choose your state
Free to use
A free trial is offered

State-specific courses for life, health, property, casualty, personal lines and adjuster licenses. Kaplan’s Certified All-Lines Adjuster (CALA) designation is on Florida’s list of designations that waive the 6-20 adjuster exam. Some packages include a refund if you don’t pass, on Kaplan’s terms.

Checked October 2026

ExamFX

Online course · web
Price
Not shown until you choose your state and course
Free to use
Not stated

Pre-licensing courses for all 50 states and DC, built around each state’s exam outline, with video, flashcards and a Spanish option. Offers a pass-or-money-back guarantee. It reports a 93% pass rate from its own student survey, which isn’t an official figure.

Checked October 2026

Aceable Insurance

Online course · web and app
Price
Not shown on the main page
Free to use
Not stated

Pre-licensing courses in 15 states, including California, Florida and Texas, fully online on any device. Offers a pass-or-money-back guarantee. 4.8 out of 5 from about 10,800 reviews on Trustpilot.

Checked October 2026

AdjusterPro

Online adjuster course · web
Price
Varies by state; shown on each course page
Free to use
A reciprocity map and career guides

Focused on adjusters: licensing courses, exam prep and continuing education in all 50 states, plus Xactimate training. In Texas, only a TDI-approved course replaces the state exam, so check the approval for your state before you buy.

Checked October 2026

2021 Training

Online adjuster course · web
Price
Full Smart Start package listed at $408
Free to use
A free Xactimate demo and a Texas application and fingerprint guide

Adjuster licensing courses for Texas and Florida, new-adjuster training and CE. Its Professional in Claims (PIC) designation is on Florida’s list that waives the 6-20 adjuster exam. Plans include lifetime access and a money-back guarantee.

Checked October 2026

WebCE

Online course · web
Price
Not shown on the main page
Free to use
Not stated

Insurance exam prep, adjuster exam prep and CE. Its Claims Adjuster Certified Professional (CACP) designation is on Florida’s list that waives the 6-20 adjuster exam.

Checked October 2026

360training

Online adjuster course · web
Price
$169 for the Texas All-Lines Adjuster course
Free to use
Nothing

The Texas course ends with a 150-question final exam that needs 70%, taken within 180 minutes and monitored by a third party. The state’s $50 application fee and fingerprints are extra.

Checked October 2026