United States · Exam

Where to take the GED: testing centers and each state's rules

You book it on GED.com, and the "See where I can test" link opens Pearson VUE's finder, which lists every GED testing center you can choose. What changes from state to state is the rest: the price, the youngest age you can test, whether you have to live there, and whether you can test online instead. As of October 2026, Iowa and Maine are the only states where GED.com doesn't list GED testing at all.

How do you find a GED testing center near you?

  1. Create a free account on GED.com. Your address sets your state, and your state sets your price and rules.
  2. Choose "test center" when you schedule, then pick the subject.
  3. Pick a GED testing center from the list, then a day and time. To look around before you sign up, use Pearson VUE's test center finder.
  4. Pay by card. You can book one subject or up to all four, and take all four in one day if the center's hours allow.

What to bring to the test center

A valid government photo ID, which our GED guide covers. Some states also ask for proof that you live there. New Jersey, for example, wants a residency document from the current or previous month, and New York wants you to have lived in the state for at least 30 days.

GED rules in the most searched states

From each state's page on GED.com as of October 2026. Prices and age rules for the same states are on our cost and age pages.

StateMust live there?What you getExtra steps
ArizonaNoArizona High School Equivalency Diploma-
CaliforniaYesCalifornia High School Equivalency Certificate-
ConnecticutYesConnecticut State High School DiplomaIn-person only
FloridaNo, but you need a Florida addressState of Florida High School DiplomaIn-person only
HawaiiNoHigh School Equivalency CredentialIn-person only
IllinoisYes, 30 daysIllinois High School DiplomaComplete an Illinois Constitution module
KansasNoKansas State High School Diploma-
KentuckyYes, with a Kentucky mailing addressCommonwealth of Kentucky High School Equivalency Diploma-
MarylandYesMaryland High School Diploma-
MassachusettsYesHigh School Equivalency CredentialUnder 18: withdrawal letter approved before you book
MinnesotaNoState of Minnesota GED Diploma-
MississippiYesState of Mississippi High School Equivalency Diploma-
MissouriYesCertificate of High School EquivalenceProve residency on test day
NevadaYesCertificate of High School Equivalency-
New JerseyYesNew Jersey State Issued High School DiplomaResidency document from the current or previous month
New MexicoNoNew Mexico High School Diploma-
New YorkYes, 30 daysNYS High School Equivalency DiplomaTest at a New York test center
North CarolinaNoNorth Carolina State Board of Community Colleges High School Equivalency DiplomaYour last test must be in North Carolina
PennsylvaniaYesCommonwealth Secondary School Diploma-
TennesseeNoHigh School Equivalency Diploma-
TexasYesState of Texas Certificate of High School Equivalency-
VirginiaNoGED Certificate-
WashingtonYes, when you testCertificate of Educational Competency-
West VirginiaNot statedNot stated on its GED.com pageBook through a local adult learning or Option Pathway program
WisconsinYes, 10 daysCertificate of GED or HSEDCivics test (65% or higher) and a counseling session

GED test dates in New York and elsewhere

There are no fixed GED test dates. You pick an open day and time at a test center when you schedule on GED.com, and New York's GED.com page says you can take all four subjects in one day if the center's hours allow. In New York the test is free, but you must test at a New York test center to get a New York diploma, and online testing isn't offered.

Texas GED testing requirements

Texas asks for more than most states. You must be 18, or 16 or 17 with conditions such as Texas residency and, at 17, a parent's permission. You must live in Texas, and a driver's license or a bill with a Texas address proves it. The fee is $36.25 a subject at a test center or $42.25 online, and you get two discounted retakes per subject at a test center, each with a $16.25 fee. Texas residents 21 and older may qualify for help with fees through a local adult education program.