Kansas · Permit test

Kansas driver's education and where to learn

Start with the free Kansas Driving Handbook, then decide whether you need a course. Kansas driver's education counts toward a license only if it comes from a school district program approved by the Department of Education, or from a private school KDOR approves that gives 8 hours in the classroom and 6 behind the wheel. KDOR says online courses don't meet the requirement, and it won't accept their certificates.

Do you need driver's education in Kansas?

Only for some steps. KDOR's graduated license page says driver's education isn't required for an instruction permit. The handbook says it is required for a restricted license at 15, but not if you apply at 16.

It can still save you tests. KDOR's teen driving FAQ says an office will accept a DE-99 completion certificate from an approved course instead of the written test for an instruction permit, and the handbook lets the same slip stand in for the vision, written and driving exams for a restricted license at 16 or an unrestricted license. KDOR's FAQ says a completion form expires after 2 years. Time behind the wheel with an instructor who is 21 or older also counts toward your 50 supervised hours.

Picking what fits you

If you're 14 and want a permit, the handbook and practice questions are enough: driver's ed is optional at that stage. If you want to drive alone at 15, you'll need an approved course, so it makes sense to start one while you hold your permit. If you're 17 or older, you can take the written and driving tests without a course.

Kansas driving schools on KDOR's list give the classroom and driving hours in one place, and school districts run their own approved programs. If you're unsure whether a course counts, KDOR's Getting a Driver's License page says to call the Division of Vehicles at 785-296-3671.

For the supervised hours, KDOR's teen driving page also links a Road Ready App and a parent's supervised driving program handbook hosted on edrivermanuals.com. KDOR's page lists them without describing them, so check what each offers before you rely on it.

Official and free

Kansas Driving Handbook

Official · PDF
Price
Free as a PDF, $2 printed
Free to use
The whole handbook, in English and Spanish

KDOR's own book for the knowledge test and the driving test, revised February 2022, with Test Your Knowledge questions after each section and 13 sample questions in Section 11. The Spanish edition is older, revised February 2019. KDOR's FAQ says a printed copy costs $2 at a driver's license office.

Checked October 2026

Kansas Driver's Practice Test for Alexa

Official · Voice skill
Price
No price listed by KDOR
Free to use
Enable it on an Alexa device

A KDOR practice test for Amazon's Alexa. You say "Alexa, enable Kansas driving test", then Alexa asks multiple-choice questions and you answer with the letter. KDOR's page doesn't say how many questions it has.

Checked October 2026

Motorcycle and CDL handbooks

Official · PDF
Price
Free
Free to use
Both books

For a motorcycle license, the Kansas Motorcycle Handbook (revised 2020) is built on the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's manual, with Kansas statutes and sample questions added. For a commercial license, KDOR's CDL manual (March 2025 version) covers every knowledge test and the three-part skills test.

Checked October 2026

Apps and websites

Road Ready App

App · linked by KDOR
Price
Not listed on KDOR's page
Free to use
Not stated on KDOR's page

KDOR's teen driving page links the Road Ready App in its list of teen driving resources, next to the supervised driving handbook. KDOR's page doesn't describe the app or say who makes it.

Checked October 2026

Parent's supervised driving program handbook

Website · linked by KDOR
Price
Not listed on KDOR's page
Free to use
Not stated on KDOR's page

KDOR's teen driving page links this handbook for parents, hosted on edrivermanuals.com. KDOR's page gives the title only and doesn't say who publishes it.

Checked October 2026

In person

KDOR-approved private driving schools

In person · Course
Price
Set by each school; KDOR's list doesn't give prices
Free to use
Nothing free listed

KDOR's list of private driver training schools, dated July 2026, gives contacts for schools in towns including Wichita, Lawrence, Lenexa, Leawood, Salina, Overland Park and Kansas City, Kansas. The handbook says approved private schools give 8 hours of classroom and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and that online courses don't count for a Kansas license.

Checked October 2026

School district driver's education

In person · Course
Price
Set by each district
Free to use
Nothing free listed

The handbook counts programs from accredited local school districts approved by the Kansas Department of Education. Finishing one gets you a DE-99 form, which KDOR accepts in place of the written test for an instruction permit.

Checked October 2026

Motorcycle schools and community college programs

In person · Rider course
Price
Set by each school; KDOR's list doesn't give prices
Free to use
Nothing free listed

KDOR's July 2026 list includes private motorcycle schools in towns such as Wichita, Hays and Olathe, and community college programs in El Dorado, Junction City and Arkansas City. Kansas law lets the riding test be given as part of a course recognized by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.

Checked October 2026

A study path, from handbook to permit

  1. Read the Kansas Driving Handbook, Sections 1 to 11. Section 11 explains the test itself.
  2. Answer the Test Your Knowledge questions at the end of each section without looking back.
  3. Take the 20 practice questions on this site and reread the sections behind any you miss.
  4. Try KDOR's Alexa practice test if you like learning by ear.
  5. Gather your documents and book an appointment, or check whether you can take the exam online.

Finding an approved driving school

KDOR publishes a list of the private driver training schools it approves, dated July 2026, with schools in towns including Wichita, Lawrence, Lenexa, Leawood, Salina, Overland Park and Kansas City, Kansas. It keeps a separate list of motorcycle schools and community college programs. KDOR's lists give contact details, not prices, so ask each school what it charges.