Nova Scotia · Learner’s test

Nova Scotia learner’s practice test: where to study

The Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) gives you one thing to study for the Knowledge Test: the Nova Scotia Driver’s Handbook. If you test online, you can try a sample test first, but it shows you how the system works rather than checking what you know. For a learner’s practice test in Nova Scotia with questions to answer, you’ll need an app or a course from someone else.

  • 3Practice apps compared, none from the RMV
  • 1Study source the RMV names, the handbook
  • 3Handbook chapter with the road signs

Study options for the Knowledge Test

OptionPriceFree to useLinks
Official sources
Government of Nova Scotia: Nova Scotia Driver’s HandbookOfficial · PDFThe study material the RMV (Registry of Motor Vehicles) names for the Knowledge Test. Read the update pages at the front, then chapter 3 for the signs part.
Online: no charge shown. Printed: $9.75, tax includedThe PDF
Government of Nova Scotia: online Knowledge Test and sample testOfficial · web, with a webcamThe RMV’s page for the Class 7 test, where you start the online test. Its sample test shows how online testing works, not what the questions are.
$15.03 for the test; no charge shown for the sampleThe sample test
In person
Licensed driving schools (RMV list)Lessons and driver education coursesThe RMV’s list of licensed schools, with columns for GDL (Graduated Driver Licensing) approval and online theory. A recognized course shortens the wait before your road test.
Set by each schoolNot stated
Apps and websites
Nova Scotia Driving Test Prep (Intellect Studio)iPhone, iPad and Android appLessons, practice questions and mock tests, with audio lessons and offline use. Its listing says the content is based on the Nova Scotia Driver’s Handbook. Rated 4.8 from 88 ratings on the Canadian App Store.
Free download; the Android version contains adsNot stated
Nova Scotia Driving Test (Quizzard Exam Preparation)iPhone, iPad and Android appQuizzes for each part of the handbook, a review list of missed questions and timed mock exams. Rated 4.6 from 35 ratings on the Canadian App Store. Its Google Play listing says it isn’t affiliated with any government agency.
Free download; Premium listed at $9.99 on the App StoreNot stated
Nova Scotia Driving Test NS (Movil Softwares)iPhone and iPad appPractice questions with answers and explanations. Its listing says it isn’t affiliated with any government agency. Rated 5.0 from 21 ratings on the Canadian App Store.
Free download; subscriptions from $2.99 a week, or $12.99 for lifetime accessNot stated

Prices and ratings checked November 2026.

A study plan for the Knowledge Test

  1. Start with the update pages at the front of the handbook, then the province’s list of Traffic Safety Act changes from October 19, 2026. Both cover rules that changed after the handbook was printed.
  2. Then read the handbook from the start. It says all the information you need for both parts of the test is inside.
  3. Learn the signs in chapter 3 by shape and colour. The road signs are a whole part of the test, scored on their own.
  4. Write down the numbers as you go, like speed limits, parking distances and when to dim your headlights.
  5. Test yourself with a practice app or a driving school’s questions, and go back to the handbook for anything you get wrong.
  6. If you’ll test online, take the sample test on the RMV’s system so the webcam and screens hold no surprises.

Is there an official learner’s practice test in Nova Scotia?

Not one with test questions. The RMV’s Knowledge Test page tells you to review the Driver’s Handbook, and that’s the study material it names.

Practice tests in apps and on websites are made by other companies, not by the RMV. Some say their questions are based on the handbook. Check anything that surprises you against the handbook itself.

Driving schools and driver education

The RMV publishes a list of active driving school licences. It shows, for each school, whether it’s approved for GDL (Graduated Driver Licensing) courses and for online theory.

You don’t need a course to take the Knowledge Test. A recognized course counts later, for your road test wait and for leaving the newly licensed stage.

How to choose

Studying on your own? The handbook says it holds everything you need, and you can read it online. Read the 2026 rule changes with it. An app adds questions to practise on. None of the apps comes from the RMV, so treat the handbook as the final word.

Want a teacher, or the shorter wait before your road test? Look for a GDL-approved school on the RMV’s list. Each school sets its own prices.

Sources: Government of Nova Scotia and 5 more. Checked November 2026.

Rules and fees can change, so check the official site before your test.