Pennsylvania · Permit test

The best PA driving test app, and other ways to study

The best PA driving test app to start with is PennDOT's own: PA Driver's Practice Test, free on iPhone and Android. Pair it with the free Pennsylvania Driver's Manual and PennDOT's question sets for Chapters 2, 3 and 4. If you're under 18, a parent can log your 65 practice hours as you go.

Official and free

Pennsylvania Driver's Manual (PUB 95)

Official · Online, PDF and audio
Price
Free
Free to use
The whole manual, in 33 languages

PennDOT's handbook and the source of every knowledge test question. Read it online chapter by chapter, listen to the audio version, or download the PDF in English or one of 32 other languages. The English PDF is the April 2021 edition.

Checked October 2026

PennDOT chapter question sets

Official · PDF
Price
Free
Free to use
Review questions for Chapters 2, 3 and 4

Three downloadable sets with answers, one each for signs and signals, learning to drive, and driving records. PennDOT doesn't say how many questions are in each.

Checked October 2026

PA Driver's Practice Test app

Official · iPhone and Android app
Price
Free
Free to use
The whole app

Published by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. It describes its practice questions as a realistic version of the real knowledge test. It has 4.6 stars from about 1,600 App Store ratings, and was last updated in May 2025.

Checked October 2026

PA Motorcycle Practice Test app

Official · iPhone and Android app
Price
Free
Free to use
The whole app

The rider version, with practice questions for the motorcycle permit knowledge test and a section on next steps for licensing. It has 4.7 stars from 112 App Store ratings.

Checked October 2026

Parallel parking tutorial

Official · Video
Price
Free
Free to use
The video

Linked from PennDOT's Test Your Knowledge page. Worth watching before the road test, where you get one try at parking in a 24-by-8-foot space.

Checked October 2026

Apps and websites

RoadReady

App for parents · promoted by PennDOT
Price
Not stated in PennDOT's flyer
Free to use
Not stated

PennDOT's Parent's Supervised Driving Program flyer recommends it for logging the 65 required hours. It records each drive and produces a state-approved document to turn in, and newer versions measure the teen's driving.

Checked October 2026

Driving-Tests.org and DMV Genie

Web and app · all states
Price
Free tests. Premium price not shown on the page
Free to use
Six PA permit practice tests, sign tests and an 18-question exam simulator

One company runs both. The Pennsylvania section groups 180 essential questions, 305 harder ones and 93 on fines, distraction and drinking, plus hazard simulators. The site links its DMV Genie app at 4.7 stars on Google Play.

Checked October 2026

Zutobi

Web and app · all states
Price
Not shown on the Pennsylvania page
Free to use
Not stated

Lists 550+ Pennsylvania questions across 9 modules and 57 lessons, with iPhone and Android apps.

Checked October 2026

In person

Driver education courses

Schools approved by the PA Department of Education
Price
Set by each school
Free to use
-

Needed if you want to move from a junior to a regular license before 18. Up to six hours of driving with the instructor count toward your 65 hours.

Checked October 2026

Pennsylvania Motorcycle Safety Program (PAMSP)

Rider training courses
Price
Free for PA residents with a Class M permit or license
Free to use
The courses

Pass a licensing course such as the 17-hour Beginner Riding Clinic on your permit and you get a Class M license without the center's skills test. Students on the beginner course get a motorcycle and helmet to use.

Checked October 2026

Which PA driving test app is PennDOT's own?

It's called PA Driver's Practice Test, it's published by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and it's free on iPhone and Android. Riders have a separate one, PA Motorcycle Practice Test.

A PA driving test app is good for short sessions, but it doesn't replace the manual. Read a chapter first, then use the app to check what stuck.

Sources: PennDOT and 2 more. Checked October 2026.

Rules and fees can change, so check the official site before your test.